my next road trip…

Recently, I have taken a few road trips scouring the New England country side for local pickins. Summertime is perfect for such adventures, even though the roads might be a bit trying at times. Especially those well traveled, like Route 1 in Maine. On this particular morning, I was heading up to Tenants Harbor to visit friends and delighted in the sights I saw along the way.

My first stop was at Scratch Baking Company in South Portland for a little morning snack. This bakery was on my radar screen and although it took me off my route for about 45 minutes, it was well worth the excursion. Following Google map from my phone I located this unbelievable bakery nestled on a quiet corner in South Portland. As soon as I walked in the door I knew it lived up to its expectations. So much so, that instead of buying one of their famous bagels, I bought a dozen! 
As I glanced around the bakery, multiple goodies jumped out at me as to what else should grab for my road trip. The muffins du jour, scones du jour and coffeecake du jour, along with their very intense cinnamon rolls, were making me salivate. But my calorie counting got the best of me and I stuck with the bagels.

As I got above Brunswick, I noticed occasional tents set along the highway with signs that read “Fresh Native Blueberries”. Quarts of the petit, low-bush blueberries were perfectly lined on tables, shaded by a small tent. These blueberries are so much better than the cultivated high-bush blueberry, in my opinion, and make the best damn blueberry pie! So naturally I stopped to buy 2 quart from a delightful old man and drove away day- dreaming about which delicious recipe I would use them. In Maine, it’s always blueberry cake, blueberry pie or blueberry muffins. Every choice is a winner. 

As I continued along, I came upon the town of Wiscasset. My head was turning every which way to take in the delightful, old village shop fronts, craning my neck to see if I could discover another local pickin. Then I spied “Treats” which had a wonderful window display inviting you stop and have a look around. I found a place to park and soon was staring at an array of beautiful Maine cheese. Mainechego, Seal Cove Chevre, York Hill Goat Cheese, they all looked good to me!

But time was passing quickly and I was still an hour away from my destination. Delighted that I had found numerous local pickins on my morning drive, I drove straight to Tenants Harbor where a delicious lunch was awaiting me consisting of a lobster roll, potato chips and fresh melon with blueberries. Catching up with great friends and telling them of my discoveries along the way made me excited for another adventure. Who knows where my next road trip would take me and what goodies I would find.

Leave a Reply

