laktes and martinis…

Nothing beats the holidays! It’s my favorite time of year for learning about a friend’s special holiday tradition, sharing a recipe, receiving a Christmas card or gathering for a songfest of holiday music. Cookies are baked, trees are decorated, candles are lit, and presents are wrapped. The hustle and bustle can be exhausting for many of us, especially the little ones, but overall, people are happy and want to partake in some sort of holiday festivity. Recently, I visited my daughter who baked gingerbread cookies for her first annual “Cookies and Cocktails” party. Her enthusiasm was infectious as she piped white frosting across the cut-out gingerbread men and ladies while deciding which cookie would be embellished with a cinnamon hot, tiny edible silver ball or sprinkles. This past Saturday, I was mixing up a batch of spicy nuts when a friend checked in to tell me that she was busy cooking 300 latkes and going to be serving them with martinis! A smile spread across my face as I listened to all that was involved for Malli and Michael’s Laktes and Martinis. The lakte recipe is pretty simple and the party itself, will be delightfully entertaining, after all, who wouldn’t want a lakte with a martini?!

Therefore, a new holiday tradition to share is Malli and Michael’s Latkes and Martinis as told to me by my friend, Nora.

With the kids grown and the holiday parties losing their luster, my friends Malli and Michael, decided to celebrate being Jewish with a Latke and Martini party. I recently joined her to make 300 latkes. We grated potatoes, beat eggs, grated onions, mixed it all together and then dropped large spoonfuls of this delightful potato mixture into a fry pan and watched them sizzle. Violà … we had latkes!

As for the martinis…

There is something about a Martini,
A tingle remarkably pleasant.
A yellow, a mellow Martini.
I wish I had one at present …
Ogden Nash

Latke Ingredients:
6 medium Russet potatoes
1 medium onion
1 teaspoon salt, pepper to taste.
1 egg
3 tablespoons matzo meal
1/2 t baking powder
Canola oil

Wash, peel and grate potatoes, lay on paper towels to drain excess moisture. Place in large bowl. Peel and grate onion. Add beaten egg, grated onion, salt and matzo meal to grated potatoes. Mix well. Put 3 tbs. canola oil into fry pan and heat to medium high. Drop latke mixture by spoonfuls into frypan and brown on both sides. Serve latke with sour cream and applesauce.

Serve a regular vodka or gin Martini with Vermouth.
Or try a Dirty Martin with caper berries instead of olives!

I love a martini,
or two at the very most,
with three I’m under the table,
with four I’m under the host!
Dorothy Post

Leave a Reply

